What are the different accreditation levels?

We can help you determine the best employer accreditation level for your business.

Accreditation tiers

There are two main accreditation tiers, standard and high volume. There are additional requirements for labour hire/tripartite/franchises.

Standard employer accreditation

The standard accreditation is for employers who employ or are looking to employ 1 to 5 migrant workers at any given time.

It is a streamlined process for low-risk, standard employers (including small businesses). The accreditation process will include checks to ensure that the business is compliant with minimum employment standards before being able to hire migrant workers.

Initial accreditation is granted for 12 months, with renewals every 24 months.

High volume employer accreditation

The premium accreditation is for companies recruiting six or more employer-assisted migrants in a year. While the process is similar to standard accreditation, there will be higher standards for attracting and retaining New Zealand workers (wages, skills and training) and additional checks to ensure compliance with employment standards.

You may upgrade from standard to high volume accreditation at any time, for a fee, which reflects the additional verification work to be done by Immigration New Zealand.

Initial accreditation is granted for 12 months, with 24 months renewals.

Note that Employer accreditations under AEWV are automatically extended by 12 months if the first accreditation is applied for by 4 July 2023.

Labour hire/tripartite accreditation

There will be additional requirements for labour hire companies (tripartite agreements) or for employers who have limited control over cost pressures (e.g. franchises). These include higher standards to meet and more checks involved. These checks will typically be focused on recruitment practices, training New Zealanders, more detailed up-front verification checks and potentially include site visits.

Initial employer accreditation and renewals are granted for 12 months.

Note: The franchisee type of accreditation is phased out in 2024.

Accreditation fees

  • Standard accreditation (up to 5 migrants at any one time) - NZD $740.
  • High-volume (6+ migrants at any one time) - NZD $1220.
  • Upgrade fee (upgrade from standard to high-volume accreditation) - NZD $480.
  • Employers wanting to place migrants with controlling third parties (tripartite agreements) - NZD $3870.
  • Franchisees - NZD $1980.
  • Reconsideration (for declined employer accreditation application) - NZD $240.




Contact our friendly team today to discuss your accreditation or visa requirements.