New Zealand International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL)

On 1st July 2019, the New Zealand government introduces a new levy to contribute to our growing infrastructure needs and continue supporting the protection of our natural legacy.

A new levy for sustainable tourism and conservation projects

What are the changes?

From 1 July 2019, most international visitors entering the country will have to pay a levy of NZ$35. This amount will be  collected as part of your visa application fee, or from at the same time as the NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) fees for visa waiver travellers.

What this means for you

You will need to pay this levy whether you are coming to work, live, visit family, or enjoy our beautiful natural landscapes for a short period of time.

What is the purpose?

The New Zealand Government is expecting to raise NZ$450 million over the next five years, to support the growing pressure on our infrastructures. Making tourism growth sustainable is paramount and this new levy should contribute to the long-term sustainability of tourism in our country, both in terms of experience for visitors, and to protect our fragile biodiversity.

Will everyone need to pay the IVL?

Most people entering New Zealand temporarily will need to pay the levy, including most visitors, students, and short-term work visa holders.

Who will not need to pay the IVL:

  • New Zealand citizens and residents (including all resident visas)
  • People transiting New Zealand on a transit visa or transit NZeTA
  • Australian citizens and permanent residents
  • People from the most Pacific Island countries
  • Diplomatic, military, medical, and humanitarian visas
  • People travelling to Antarctica under the Antarctic Treaty (including people travelling on the Antarctic Traveller transit Visa)
  • Recognised Seasonal Employment (RSE) workers
  • Business Visitor Visas (including APEC business travel cards)
  • Ship and airline crew
  • Most visas for dependants (partners and children) of work and student visa holders
  • Travellers whose visa or NZeTA requirements have been waived by Immigration New Zealand


Meet the team