Very High Risk Countries classification to be removed

Since April 2021, only New Zealand citizens and their immediate family member could travel to New Zealand from Brazil, India, Pakistan and Papua New Guinea.

Travellers from Indonesia, Fiji, India, Pakistan and Brazil

The Government has announced that the Very High-Risk classification for Indonesia, Fiji, India, Pakistan and Brazil will be removed early December 2021. Since April 2021, only New citizens and their family could travel to New Zealand from one of these countries.

Travellers from these countries will now be able to enter New Zealand on the same basis as travellers from most other countries. This means that non-residents will require a Critical Purpose visa to get through the border restrictions, until the country opens to all, fully vaccinated foreign nationals from 30 April 2022 onward without the need for border exemption requests.

The requirement for Managed Isolation and Quarantine (MIQ) will also progress towards a mandatory period of self-isolation. All travellers not required to go into MIQ will require:

  • a negative pre-departure test
  • proof of being fully vaccinated
  • a passenger declaration about travel history
  • a day 0/1 test on arrival
  • a requirement to self-isolate for seven days, and
  • a final negative test before entering the community

Travellers from Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea will continue to be classified as Very High-Risk, whereby only New Zealand Citizens and dependants can travel directly to New Zealand and all other travellers from Papua New Guinea must spend 14 days in another country before coming to New Zealand. Exemptions will only be provided for humanitarian reasons.